Is It Wrong? Literary Snobbery or Fun Fiction?

I have read some of the classics. I loved Grapes of Wrath and My Antonia, when I read them in high school. I was enthralled by The Handmaid’s Tale. More recently, however, I was brought to tears and a part of me died reading Sarah’s Key, saddened by the inequality of The Help and horrified by the culture in Snow Flower and the Secret Fan.

So is it wrong that I equally, if not more so enjoy books like Girls Poker Night?

Or that I am a Janet Evanovich junkie? I will read anything she writes, even her early stuff that doesn’t compare to the Stephanie Plum series.

I am a HUGE fan of Jen Lancaster’s works. I started with Bitter Is The NewBlack and read everthing thereafter. I almost gave up on it when I first started reading because I thought she was an awful person, but through her transformation, I found she is the bitchy friend everyone should have and let’s be honest, she may say it but most of us are thinking it.

Is it Chic Lit or just fun reading? I know at least three men that read Janet Evanovich. Is it any less literature than the classics? They are all just stories about life from different perspectives. Perhaps more entertaining and less tragic than the others, but no more or less significant. The major upside is at least I’m not depressed for days after reading them. I may feel a little empty because upon finishing, I feel like I just said goodbye to a dear friend and won’t be seeing her again anytime soon, but alas that may be the tragedy of Chic Lit.

So those are my guilty pleasures and I’m going to stand tall and proud and I will not hide them behind book covers, Time Magazines or read them only at home. After all, they didn’t get on the bestsellers list if I’m the only one reading them!

About Wrinkles and Flab and Hair! Oh My!

You may be wondering about my choice of blog name. Well, I’m a few years north of 40 and I thought I would surely be the exception… turns out I’m not. This blog is to address the good, the bad and the ugly of getting older and just the mundaneness of everyday life. The wrinkles have set in. The flab just appeared. And the hair…when, how and WHY did it start growing there?!?! I welcome all who want to read. Those over 40 that are going through or have gone through the same thing, I hope we can chat like sisters, laugh like friends and shed a tear or two if needed. Those who are under 40 and are curious to see what lies ahead, come take a look behind the pre-menopausal curtain. Any men that are interested in reading, I welcome you too. I must, however, warn you of the disillusionment that may lie ahead. Likely, in your eyes, it will be the undoing of the feminine mystique. We are here to support one another on this crazy journey and I welcome all feedback. I’ll start with my stories and I hope you chime in with yours! So, everyone hop aboard and let’s take this ride together and see where it leads!
This entry was posted in Books I Should Read, Books I've Read, Resolutions, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

