SCRUBBER or SOAKER?

Are you a soaker, or a scrubber? I’m a scrubber and my husband is a soaker. I’m referring to dishes and pots and pans. If you have a dinner party of 6 or more, you inevitably will have a minimum of three dishwasher loads and a sink or counter full of dishes waiting in the wings. I did finally get the message through to my husband that (please) don’t stack the dishes in the sink (Damn it!) because that brings ALL other clean up to a grinding halt. Stack them on the counter next to the sink (not in Jenga-like towers), so at a minimum we (I) can wash down all the other counters and hand wash any delicate items, while they are awaiting their turn.

I CANNOT leave dishes soaking in the sink all night and wake up to a sink full of cold water that has a thin layer of fat and grease floating along the surface. The thought of plunging my hand down to the bottom of the sink to feel around for the plug, with the fatty food particles swimming around and touching me, makes me want to vomit. I would rather have it all behind me the night before.

This has been a sore spot for us for years. I don’t judge others for being soakers, just don’t try to force it upon me. We had a dinner party last night and we had a roast in a roasting pan and of course it gets cruddy and sticky and baked on. Well, two dishwasher loads later, the large roasting pan, a few glasses and some miscellaneous odds and ends were all that were left. I began to scrub the roasting pan and so started the latest installment of The Great Soaking versus Scrubbing Debate.
It went something along the lines of:

Husband: “No! No. No. What are you doing?”

Wife looks up from scrubbing. Says nothing.

Husband: “You have to soak that with some soap (emphasis on soap) and let it sit on the counter all night.” (We have a split sink and the roaster is too big to lay flat in the sink, thus it has to sit on the counter, which is that much less appealing to me.)

Wife: “I’m just going to scrub it, and get some of the baked on stuff loose and put it in the dishwasher for a final clean.” (And by the way, thanks for pointing out it needs to soak with SOAP!).

Husband: “No you gotta let it soak.”

Wife quietly and purposefully keeps scrubbing. End of debate.

Not an exciting debate and less heated (and boy they have been heated) than in years gone by because I think we (I) have begun to keep our (my) strong feelings in check (somewhat… most of the time).
Knowing the roasting pan would be sitting full of cold fatty water come morning until I dumped it, scrubbed it and threw it in the dishwasher, it was a no brainer. I won, if you consider scrubbing a gross and greasy roasting pan winning. It was a hollow win, but a win nonetheless.

About Wrinkles and Flab and Hair! Oh My!

You may be wondering about my choice of blog name. Well, I’m a few years north of 40 and I thought I would surely be the exception… turns out I’m not. This blog is to address the good, the bad and the ugly of getting older and just the mundaneness of everyday life. The wrinkles have set in. The flab just appeared. And the hair…when, how and WHY did it start growing there?!?! I welcome all who want to read. Those over 40 that are going through or have gone through the same thing, I hope we can chat like sisters, laugh like friends and shed a tear or two if needed. Those who are under 40 and are curious to see what lies ahead, come take a look behind the pre-menopausal curtain. Any men that are interested in reading, I welcome you too. I must, however, warn you of the disillusionment that may lie ahead. Likely, in your eyes, it will be the undoing of the feminine mystique. We are here to support one another on this crazy journey and I welcome all feedback. I’ll start with my stories and I hope you chime in with yours! So, everyone hop aboard and let’s take this ride together and see where it leads!
This entry was posted in Differences, Humor, Relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

