How Do I Stack Up?

I came across an article listing the Top 10 New Year’s Resolutions and wanted to see how I stack up against them and see if I missed any I might need to consider.

1. Spend More Time With Friends and Family

I spend a lot time with my family, though my niece and nephew, that I am very close to, are now teenagers and have their own lives. I accept it, but I have been trying to come up with ideas to keep them close. I bought my nephew the Scrabble app, with the requirement that he play Scrabble online with me – at least one game per month. The first month just passed and it literally took a full moth for us to finish one game. He finished it in the evening of December 31st. He’s totally into this idea, don’t you think? I have started, with my niece, a story writing chain. I started a story and e-mailed it to her. She adds to the story and e-mails it to her mom. Her mom adds to the story and e-mails it back to me. There is a two day time limit for each person. I should have gotten it back yesterday. Still waiting.

My friends. That’s a whole different story. I’m a complete failure at that. Everyone is busy and those are the relationships that really suffer. I WILL try to do better.

2. Fit In Fitness

Yes, I need to.

3. Tame the Bulge

Yes, I need to. In a previous post, I talk about my goal to get into a bikini by summer. It will take A LOT of work, but that’s the goal and it pretty much covers Numbers 2 and 3. There’s about 30 pounds of bulge that needs blasting. Crunches, squats, here I come! Just thinking about it exhausts me…

4. Quit Smoking

I’m ahead of the game on this one. I smoked a quarter of one of my sister’s Capri Slims in high school and almost coughed up a lung. Never tried again.

5. Enjoy Life More

I think this is a good one and I don’t think I would have thought of it on my own. We are living hectic lives. We run from one task to another and do not take time to appreciate the journey. I think even taking a moment to recognize and appreciate the things in your life could really make a difference. Instead of thinking about making it to work on time, doing laundry, dropping off the kids, picking up the kids, going to activities, take a minute or two each day (beginning, end or somewhere in between) and appreciate the life, relationships and family you have created and are building. Bask in the glory and amazement of it all. I know it’s especially hard for women to turn off the multi-tasking and constant planning and worrying, but I think your mindset would shift a little if you took that little bit of time. Maybe somethings would seem like less of a chore.

6. Stop Drinking

I don’t really think this one applies to me. If I have a glass of wine a month, I’d be surprised. I’ll keep my occasional cocktail, thank you very much.

7. Get Out of Debt

Wow. This has got to be a big one out there! With the economy being what it is and no end in sight, this one is huge. My husband and I are working on trying to better our financial situation as well. We have some refinancing in the works, with the rates so low, it would only make fiscal sense. Of course, those require appraisals and property values aren’t what they used to be. Other than that, keeping spending in line is the only other alternative. I think most people would benefit from that.

8. Learn Something New

I like this one. This can have so many different possibilities. It can range from taking a class to getting a new job, or trying a new activity. The possibilities are endless and I’m going to have to mull this one over for a while.

9. Help Others

This is one that I’m already considering. It could be in the form of volunteerism, but I am taking the approach of just doing little things to help people in any way I can. Whether helping someone carry their groceries to the car, or opening a door for a stranger. I loved the movie Pay It Forward and I think we can all make it a better world by making small gestures. Even a smile can help brighten someone’s day.

10. Get Organized

Ugh! I make this resolution multiple times a year, every year and still nothing helps. I think I must admit defeat on this one and accept my failure. It ain’t ever gonna happen!

As I’m thinking about these and I know I can mark #10 right off my list, I am thinking of one I would like to work on personally. Patience. As I have gotten older, I think I have lost some of my patience. I find myself getting all worked up and I really need to stop and think whether it’s something worth getting worked up about. Granted, my husband purposefully tries my patience, thinking he is being funny, but I am going to make a concerted effort to try and diffuse that habit of his, but also just try to center myself and not get upset about the things that don’t really matter. Maybe that will help accomplish #5.

Happy New Year to all and let’s hear your resolutions for 2012.

Article referred to in this post was found online at a about.com Pittsburgh (by the way, I am not from Pittsburgh, but they seemed pretty universal to me). Top 10 New Year’s Resolutions by Albrecht Powell.

About Wrinkles and Flab and Hair! Oh My!

You may be wondering about my choice of blog name. Well, I’m a few years north of 40 and I thought I would surely be the exception… turns out I’m not. This blog is to address the good, the bad and the ugly of getting older and just the mundaneness of everyday life. The wrinkles have set in. The flab just appeared. And the hair…when, how and WHY did it start growing there?!?! I welcome all who want to read. Those over 40 that are going through or have gone through the same thing, I hope we can chat like sisters, laugh like friends and shed a tear or two if needed. Those who are under 40 and are curious to see what lies ahead, come take a look behind the pre-menopausal curtain. Any men that are interested in reading, I welcome you too. I must, however, warn you of the disillusionment that may lie ahead. Likely, in your eyes, it will be the undoing of the feminine mystique. We are here to support one another on this crazy journey and I welcome all feedback. I’ll start with my stories and I hope you chime in with yours! So, everyone hop aboard and let’s take this ride together and see where it leads!
This entry was posted in Humor, New Years, Resolutions, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How Do I Stack Up?

  1. arbohl says:

    Love this post! These are definitely pretty universal resolutions, but I would agree #5 is probably the best. And if we’re doing all of those other things, I’m thinking we all would be a little bit happier with life. I just wrote a blog about keeping organized if you’d like to check it out. http://arbohl.wordpress.com/2012/01/01/an-organized-new-year/ I still have tons of things to learn but maybe you could find it a little helpful.

Leave a Reply

